Strawberry Picking at Garsons Farm, Surrey

Garsons Farm
Garsons Farm

A few years ago I decided to grow my own tomatoes, herbs, green chillies and jalapeño peppers and I really enjoyed it. I found the whole process fascinating and rewarding. To nurture a plant from initial seed to final product was both satisfying and interesting. I got to learn about something new and I got to eat my own home grown produce, which is always a bonus.

As I have recently moved I haven’t had chance to grow anything this year so to my delight my husband took me to Garsons Farm in Surrey on the weekend and I felt like a child in a sweet shop. Garsons Farm is the UK’s biggest Pick Your Own Farm and you get to pick your own fruit, vegetables and flowers. They have a chart on their website that indicates when each produce is ready to be picked and only the strawberry fields were open and ready for the public when I went. It was such a beautiful and sunny day and perfect for picking strawberries and spending the day on a farm. I took a basket and started picking out the best and juiciest strawberries, there were so many strawberries to pick that you could easily get carried away and keep picking. I had so much fun, it was lovely to see first hand where strawberries come from and how they grow. I found it inspiring and I think next year I will have a go at growing my own strawberries at home. And how did the strawberries taste you ask? Well they tasted amazing and so fresh that I can’t wait to go back for more.

If you enjoy farming and are interested in pick your own be sure to check Garsons Farm in the link below and in the meantime do you grow your own fruit and veg? I would love to hear about it and perhaps you can share some tips and advise.

Thank you to Garsons Farm for letting us pick our own it was a lovely experience 🙂

http://www.garsons.co.uk

Please leave your comments here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.